Forever Resorts Loskop Marathon 2015 Results

The Forever Resorts Loskop Marathon took place on Saturday 18 April 2015. It was the start of a perfect morning for road running, chilly but with no wind. At 6am sharp and with the darkness of night just starting to lift, a single gunshot rang out loud and clear as some 3500 athletes surged ahead for the start of their 50km journey to the finish line at Loskop Dam, A Forever Resort with victory and maybe a record breaking run foremost on their minds. These front runners managed to keep their positions for most of the first half of the race, but from the 21km mark breakaways began and the race was truly on.

In the early stages of the race Kenyan runner Shebas C (Nedbank) dominated first position with Seun Molishoa (Midack) and Butiki Jantjies (Mr Price) close behind.
At 15km Seun took the lead from Shebas C and Joseph Mphuti (Sibanya Gold) moved into third place. Running at an average 3.29 minutes per kilometre these top athletes were truly on a mission as they were trying to break Josiah Tugwane’s record of a 02:44:03 finish. It was not going to be an easy feat but onwards and upwards they continued to go. The 21km mark saw Joseph Mputhi take the lead and Seun dropped back to second place with Shebas in third place.
At ‘Buggars Hill’ Seun was spotted walking and was visibly in trouble. It was in this space that Vincent Seng (Metro Police) was spotted and moved into 4th place. The leading male position was again in serious contention.

Going down the 3km Kranspoort Pass Joseph looked relaxed and eager for a win, but with Vincent moving forever closer he kept looking back to keep an eye on his competitor. It was at this point that another contender also came into view as Veteran Charles Tjiane (Maxed Elite AC) moved into third position some 800 metres behind. Going past the Kranspoort Village all three front runners were looking strong.

At the 47km mark whilst moving up the 2km long ‘Heartbreak Hill’ (Varraday’s Hill) and with only 3km to the finish, Vincent slowly took the lead from Joseph. At this stage he seemed to be experiencing some sort of discomfort and the dream of breaking a record was clearly no longer on his agenda but with the lead car in front to escort him a first place win definitely was.

Vincent literally flew over the last 2km downhill stretch at an average speed of 3:23 minutes per kilometre to take first place in a time of 02:51:29. Joseph finished in second place in a time of 02:52:10 and Veteran runner Charles Tjiane finished third in a time of 02:53:32 missing the Veteran record with just over 3 minutes. Charles reportedly had to stop during the race to fix his soles of his shoes that came loose on the inside and if not for this he might have made the record time.

Meanwhile further back in the field the ladies race was dominated by the diminutive Kenyan, Jennifer Koech (Nedbank). Jennifer reportedly struggled with leg pains on the Kranspoort downhill but with no contenders she still managed to finish in first position in a time of 03:26:36.

Coming back from a 04:21:05 Two Oceans Marathon where she finished 16th, she has only been in South Africa for a month but is already proving to be a force to be reckoned with. Jennifer has no plans at this stage to run Comrades, but as she declares “With Gods will I will be back to defend my Loskop title next year.”

The 9th 21km Wild Challenge saw 2014 Male winner, Retsepile Khotle (Benoni Northens) come home in a time of 01:11:13. Gladys Lukhwareni (Cool Run) took the Female title in a time of 01:34:14.

Forever Resorts congratulates all the winners as well as every single athlete that completed the marathon. Next year they will be celebrating their 30th Annual Forever Resorts Loskop Marathon and it promises to be bigger and better than ever before.

Click below for the:

50km Male Winner - Vincent Seng

50km Male Winner - Vincent Seng from Johannesburg Metro Police Athletic Club in a time of 02:51:29

50km Female Winner - Jennifer Koech

50km Female Winner - Jennifer Koech from Nedbank Marathon Club in a time of 03:26:36

21km Male Winner – Retsepile Khotle

21km Male Winner – Retsepile Khotle from Benoni Northerns Athletic Club in a time of 01:11:13

21km Female Winner - Gladys Lukhwareni

21km Female Winner - Gladys Lukhwareni from Cool Run in a time of 01:34:14
Click here to view Forever's TV advertisement

Scan or click below QR-code to find the nearest Forever Property

QR Code

Scan below QR-code to view the Leisure Brochure

Scan the QR code